National Parks Tours Offers

* First Name * Last Name * Email

National Parks of the Midwest

Call 877-674-9593

Monday - Friday 9:00am - 6:00pm CT

Midwest Region

Sail boats on Lake Michigan

Seven National Parks make up the Midwest region of the United States, which is comprised of 13 states: North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana and Ohio. Hallmarks of the region are the Great Northern Prairies, rolling plains, and the Great Lakes.

Hot Springs National Park

A vacation to the Midwest’s National Parks can include the pinnacles, spires and prairies of South Dakota’s Badlands, which has the world’s richest fossil beds and an array of wildlife; Arkansas’ Hot Springs, which is not only the smallest National Park but the only one located in an urban area; and, North Dakota’s Theodore Roosevelt National Park, named for the 26th President of the United States and featuring his historic cabin and excellent hiking opportunities.

St. Louis’ Jefferson National Expansion Memorial

In addition to unique National Parks, the region is filled with outstanding historic sites and monuments including Lincoln’s Home in Springfield, IL; St. Louis’ Jefferson National Expansion Memorial commemorating Thomas Jefferson’s role in westward expansion; the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site in Topeka, KS; and, Cincinnati’s William Howard Taft National Historic Site.

Popular Trips in the Midwest

  1. Michigan’s Lakes & Mackinac Island